top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Langston

WHAT I LOVE MOST

Updated: Dec 14, 2021

Be prepared for a long list. I LOVE this home.

  • The insulation! The rental house I was in was a 900sf "normal" built home compared to the nearly 3000sf of finished space we have now and our electric bills are HALF of what they were. I'm also SO GLAD I put it in the floor, ceiling and walls around the master bedroom. The LVP floors are amazing and durable, but do nothing to deaden sound.

  • Having our cooktop in our island! Jarred's sole request turned out to be one of the very best things about our home. We're both social cooks and love seeing what's going on while we cook.

  • The pocket doors! They save so much floor space and maneuvering in tight spaces. My powder room and pantry would be completely different without them...and having them in the boy's bath upstairs is fantastic.

  • The blocking to keep my toilet paper holders and towel bars from pulling out of the walls. My children climb on everything. These small details are lifesavers. Nothing is more irritating that having a brand new home and watching your kids quickly rip out the towel bars. They're in the wall except for the one in the power room, which is external.

  • LED undercabinet strip lights! Our electrician, Mike Julian, loves what he does and stays abreast of all the latest technology. He found these flat LED strip lights that are dimmable (and some can even be programmed to change color.

  • The motion-activated garage light sensors! Another great Mike Julian recommendation. I LOVE not having to reach for a light switch when I open my garage door. Just approaching my garage is enough to activate the lights.

  • The Christmas Light Plug and Switch! Another Mikey suggestion. My Christmas light plug is in the ceiling of the porch with a light switch in my master closet. No more extension cords across the porch or kids plugging and unplugging the lights.

  • The Instahot! I love hot tea and make coffee in a french press. Having instantly available hot water is awesome.

  • The tankless hot water heater! It seems like an endless supply of wonderfully hot water...and the energy savings for going tankless are great.

  • The LVP floors! Yes, I know I mentioned they don't deaden sound, but neither does wood. And these look like beautiful, wide plank wood floors, but my kids can't ruin them with water and the clean up beautifully with just a steam mop! I bought a little Tineco cordless vacuum and can have the whole house dust free and lovely in no time at all, which is awesome for my allergies/asthma.


  • Finishing the basement stairs! We sanded and put a clear coat of polyurethane on the treads of our carpet grade basement stairs and painted the risers white and it made a HUGE difference in the look of the stairs AND protects the treads from grime. Now I can just wipe them down.


*As an Amazon Associate I *theoretically* could get commissions if you chose to buy from the links on this site. However, so far that hasn't happened in the 10 or so years I've had Amazon links on various pages, but they require that we disclose this so TAH DAH!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page